Public Steering Committee Meeting, March 8

Friday, March 8, 2012; 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
New York Metropolitan Transportation Council
199 Water Street - 22nd Floor, New York, NY (map)

A quarterly steering committee meeting for the New York - Connecticut Sustainable Communities Consortium will be held at 10:00 AM on Friday, March 8, 2013 at the office of the New York Metropolitan Transportation Council, 199 Water Street, 22nd Floor, New York, NY 10038.

The meeting will introduce the Consortium's post-Sandy activities, followed by updates from the North New Jersey Consortium and other development items within the New York and Connecticut Consortium's work schedule leading to the end of the HUD grant. Action items will include a resolution on the selection of professional service firms.

This unprecedented bi-state collaboration is made possible by a $3.5 million HUD Sustainable Communities grant. Activities that will be undertaken include large-scale transit-oriented development and neighborhood sustainability projects at key nodes in the MTA Metro-North Railroad and MTA Long Island Rail Road commuter rail systems, strategies to advance climate resilience, open space protection and access to affordable housing, and enhancements to existing regional sustainability plans.

The grant received by the Consortium is part of HUD's Sustainable Communities Regional Planning Grant Program to support more livable and sustainable communities across the country. The grants support the development and execution of regional plans intended to build economic competitiveness by connecting housing with good jobs, quality schools and transportation. They are part of the federal government's Partnership for Sustainable Communities, which works to coordinate federal housing, transportation, water, and other infrastructure investments to make neighborhoods more prosperous, allow people to live closer to jobs, save households time and money, and reduce pollution. More information on the partnership can be found on the "About" page of this website.

The Steering Committee is comprised of designees of the Consortium's Principals, representing the cities of New York, New Haven, Bridgeport, Norwalk, Stamford, Yonkers, White Plains, New Rochelle, and Mount Vernon; Nassau and Suffolk counties; the New York Metropolitan Transportation Council (NYMTC), South Western Region Planning Agency (SWRPA), Greater Bridgeport Regional Council (GBRC), South Central Regional Council of Governments (SCRCOG); and the Long Island Regional Planning Council (LIRPC) and Regional Plan Association (RPA).

Steering Committee Meeting Agenda
Draft Steering Committee Resolution SC01-2013
Stamford East Main Street Transit Feasibility Study

System Requirements

PC-based attendees
Required: Windows® 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server

Mac®-based attendees
Required: Mac OS® X 10.5 or newer

Mobile attendees
Required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the Webinar.

Join our mailing list

* indicates required

Find us on Facebook