Public Meeting Notice, Sept. 16

New York-Connecticut Sustainable Communities Consortium
September 16 Steering Committee Meeting

The second meeting of the Steering Committee of the New York-Connecticut Sustainable Communities Consortium will be held at 10:00 AM. on Friday, September 16, 2011 in the first floor auditorium of Purdue Pharma, 201 Tresser Blvd, Stamford CT. (MAP)

The meeting will include a panel discussion of Connecticut projects that will be undertaken as part of the initiative, and action items on draft goals and milestones, terms of office for Steering Committee officers, and procedures for consultant selection committees.

To RSVP for the meeting, contact Amanda Kennedy at

Download the Agenda
Directions to Purdue Pharma

This unprecedented bi-state collaboration is made possible by a $3.5 million HUD Sustainable Communities grant. Activities that will be undertaken include large-scale transit-oriented development and neighborhood sustainability projects at key nodes in the MTA Metro-North Railroad and MTA Long Island Rail Road commuter rail systems, strategies to advance climate resilience, open space protection and access to affordable housing, and enhancements to existing regional sustainability plans.

The grant received by the Consortium is part of HUD's Sustainable Communities Regional Planning Grant Program to support more livable and sustainable communities across the country. The grants support the development and execution of regional plans intended to build economic competitiveness by connecting housing with good jobs, quality schools and transportation. They are part of the federal government's Partnership for Sustainable Communities, which works to coordinate federal housing, transportation, water, and other infrastructure investments to make neighborhoods more prosperous, allow people to live closer to jobs, save households time and money, and reduce pollution. More information on the partnership can be found at

The Steering Committee is comprised of designees of the Consortium's Principals, representing the cities of New York, New Haven, Bridgeport, Norwalk, Stamford, Yonkers, White Plains, New Rochelle, and Mount Vernon; Nassau and Suffolk counties; the New York Metropolitan Transportation Council (NYMTC), South Western Region Metropolitan Planning Organization (SWRMPO), Greater Bridgeport/Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization (GBVMPO), South Central Regional Council of Governments (SCRCOG); and the Long Island Regional Planning Council (LIRPC) and Regional Plan Association (RPA).


Sustainable Committee Resolutions

Term of Office for Steering Committee Officers Draft (PDF)
Operating Procedure for Selection Committees Draft (PDF)
Overarching Goals and Major Milestones Draft (PDF)


Connecticut Transit-Oriented Development Projects 

Stamford East Side Train Station Presentation (PDF)
South Norwalk Neighborhood Plan Presentation (PDF)
New Haven Union Station Presentation (PDF)
Bridgeport Barnum Train Station Presentation (PDF)


Join our mailing list

* indicates required

Find us on Facebook